

Media Advisory

Get ready for the Community Power Conference 2010

Join Ontario's largest annual gathering of Community Power producers, proponents and supporters

The Community Power Conference 2010 is hosted by the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA). Together with the Power Networking Centre trade show, the conference attracts industry regulators, commercial and community power generators, farmers and First Nation and Métis delegations.

The conference offers two full days of meeting and learning from community power experts, while the trade show displays the latest innovations in power generation technologies and services.

WHEN AND WHAT:

• November 14, 2010 (1:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.)

The Green Connection opening reception co-organized with Green Enterprise Ontario (GEO)

• November 15-16, 2010 (7:00 a.m. – 9:30 p.m.)

Second Annual Community Power Conference

• November 16 - 17, 2010 (8:00 a.m. – 8:30 p.m.)

Power Networking Centre trade show co-organized with the Association of Power Producers of Ontario (APPrO)

• November 15, 2010 (7:00 –9:30 pm)

Presentation of Community Power Awards.

WHERE:

Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building, 700 and 800 Level 222 Bremner Blvd., Toronto, ON Canada

This year, conference organizers have attracted the following Ontario-wide and international experts to speak at seminars and share their thoughts.

Speakers from Ontario include:

- Colin Anderson, Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Power Authority
- The Honourable Brad Duguid, Ontario Minister of Energy
- Gord Miller, Environmental Commissioner of Ontario
- Tom Rand, Advisory and Practice Lead of Cleantech, MaRS
- Michael Lyle, Vice President, Legal, Aboriginal and Regulatory Affairs, Ontario Power Authority
- Don McCabe, Vice President, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
- Jennifer Green, Executive Coordinator, Agrienergy Producers' Association of Ontario
- Donna Cansfield, MPP and Parliamentary Assistant to the Ontario Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing International speakers include:
 - Shaun Chapman, Vote Solar, United States
 - Mary Dougherty, Embark, Australia
 - Stefan Gsaenger, Ingenieurbüro Henning Holst, Germany
 - Johan Lewin, Seeland Development Trust, South Africa
 - Preben, Maegaard, Nordic Folkecenter for Renewable Energy, Denmark
 - Miguel Mendoca, World Future Council, United Kingdom
 - Fabio Rosa, Brazilian engineer who brought solar power to rural communities of Brazil

For further details, please visit: http://www.cpconference.ca

The conference schedule can be found at: http://www.cpconference.ca/Page.asp?PageID=861&SiteNodeID=384

For conference registration, please visit: http://registration.cpconference.ca

For more information or to schedule interviews, please contact:

Maria Leung, Environmental Communication Options, mleung@ecostrategy.ca OR 416-972-7401