

## Media Advisory

## **Community Power Awards nominees announced**

The Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA) is pleased to announce the Community Power Award nominees for 2010. The Community Power Award is presented to individuals and/or organizations, whose work has contributed significantly to the Community Power movement. Gord Miller, the Environmental Commissioner of Ontario will open the evening with a keynote presentation at the Community Power Awards Banquet at the Community Power Conference at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, November 15, 2010.

The Community Power Conference is Ontario's largest annual gathering of Community Power proponents, producers and supporters. Together with the Power Networking Centre trade show, the conference attracts industry regulators, commercial and community power generators, farmers and First Nation and Métis delegations. The conference offers two full days of meeting and learning from Community Power experts, while the trade show displays the latest innovations in power generation technologies and services.

For agenda, see http://bit.ly/d9WQTt

Please see below for a list of Community Power Awards nominees for 2010.

| Community Power Leader                                    | Aboriginal Community Power                                |
|---|---|
| Deborah Doncaster, CP Fund                                | William Big Bull, Walpole Island First Nation and Piikani |
| Marion Fraser, Fraser and Company                         | First Nation  |
| Brent Kopperson, Windfall Centre                          | Byron LeClaire, Pic River First Nation                    |
| Derek Satnik, Mindscape Innovations                       | Roger Peltier, Wikwemikong Unceded Nation                 |
|   | Grant Taibossgai, M'Chigeeng First Nation                 |
| International Community Power                             | Rural Community Power                                     |
| Tetsunari Iida, Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies | Joe Botscheller, Farmers for Economic Opportunity, Simcoe |
| (ISEP)  | Paul Klaesi, Fepro Farm, Cobden                           |
| Preben Maegaard, Nordic Folkecenter for Renewable Energy  | Glen Estil, Sky Generation, Lion's Head                   |
| Joseph Pesch, FESA  | Don McCabe, Ontario Federation of Agriculture, Guelph     |
| Fabio Rosa, Instituto Para O Desenvolvimento De Energias  |   |
| Alternativas E Da Auto Sustentabilidade (IDEAAS)          |   |
| Urban Community Power                                     | Urban Community Power Cont'd                              |
| Mike Brigham, SolarShare                                  | Rob McMonogle, City of Toronto                            |
| Paul Charbonneau, EnergyAdvocate.ca, Toronto              | Tom Rand, MaRS, Toronto                                   |
| Karen Farbridge, City of Guelph                           | Ijaz Rauf, Amadiyyah Muslim Community, Vaughan            |
| Robert Gallagher, Town of Blind River/North Shore Power   | Rick Salay, Neighborhood Unitarian Universalist           |
| Group   | Congregation, Toronto                                     |
| Mike Layton, Green Energy Act Alliance, Toronto           | Erin Shapero, Councillor of Ward 2, Town of Markham       |
| William Mates, Town of Ingersoll                          | Stephen Sottile, <i>Utilities Kingston</i>                |
| Joyce McLean, Toronto Hydro, Toronto                      |   |

## 2009 winners were:

- Community Power Leader Award George Smitherman, former MPP Toronto Centre and Minister of Energy and Infrastructure (Toronto)
- Aboriginal Community Power Award Michael Fox, President, Fox High Impact Consulting (Thunder Bay)
- Urban Community Power Award Ken Traynor, Toronto Renewable Energy Co-Op (Toronto)
- Rural Community Power Award Paul Norris, President, Ontario Water Power Association (Peterborough)

Further details can be found at: http://www.cpconference.ca

For conference registration, please visit: <a href="http://registration.cpconference.ca">http://registration.cpconference.ca</a>

## For more information, please contact:

Maria Leung, Environmental Communication Options, mleung@ecostrategy.ca OR 416-972-7401